LORD LIEUTENANTS OF SUSSEX (WEST SUSSEX FROM 1974)

Below is a list of Lord-Lieutenants of Sussex and West Sussex since 1559. From 1974, East and West Sussex had separate Lord-Lieutenants; before that date there was one Lord-Lieutenant for the whole of Sussex.

Past Lord-Lieutenants of West Sussex 2022 -Ladv Emma Barnard present Dame Susan Pyper, DCVO 2008-2022 1999-2008 Hugh R Wyatt, CVO 1994-1999 Major General Sir Philip Ward, KCVO, CBE 1990-1994 Charles Lennox, 10th Duke of Richmond and Gordon Lavinia Fitzalan Howard, Duchess of Norfolk 1975-1990 1974-1975 Bernard Fitzalan Howard, 16th Duke of Norfolk (NOTE: Previously Lord-Lieutenant of Sussex) Past Lord-Lieutenants of Sussex (before 1974) Bernard Fitzalan Howard, 16th Duke of Norfolk 1949-1974 Charles Wyndham, 3rd Lord Leconfield 1917-1949 1905-1916 Henry Fitzalan Howard, 15th Duke of Norfolk 1892-1905 William Neville, 1st Marquis of Abergavennay 1886-1892 Henry Brand, 1st Viscount Hampden 1860-1886 Henry Pelham, 3rd Earl of Chichester 1835-1860 Charles Lennox, 5th Duke of Richmond George O'Brian Wyndham, 3rd Earl of Egremont 1819-1835 1816-1819 Charles Lennox, 4th Duke of Richmond 1807-1816 Charles Howard. 11th Duke of Norfolk 1763-1807 Charles Lennox, 3rd Duke of Richmond 1762-1763 Charles Wyndham, 2nd Earl of Egremont 1761-1762 Thomas Pelham Holles, 1st Duke of Newcastle Henry Neville, 2nd Earl of Abergavennay 1757-1761 John Ashburnham, 2nd Earl of Ashburnham 1754-1757 Algernon Seymour, 7th Duke of Somerset 1706-1750

Charles Sackville, 6th Earl of Dorset

1689-1706

LORD LIEUTENANTS OF SUSSEX (WEST SUSSEX FROM 1974)

1688	Francis Browne, 4th Viscount Montague
1677-1688	Charles Sackville, 6th Earl of Dorset
	Charles Sackville, Lord Buckhurst
1670-1677	Richard Saville, 5th Earl of Dorset
	Henry Howard, Lord Maltravers
	Algernon Percy, 4th Earl of Northumberland
	Edward Sackville, 4th Earl of Dorset
1636-1642	Thomas Howard, 14th Earl of Arundel
	Algernon Percy, 4th Earl of Northumberland
	Edward Sackville, 4th Earl of Dorset
1635	Thomas Howard, 14th Earl of Arundel
	Edward Sackville, 4th Earl of Dorset
1624-1635	Thomas Howard, 14th Earl of Arundel
	Richard Sackville, 3rd Earl of Dorset
	Thomas Howard, 14th Earl of Arundel
1612-1624	Charles Howard, 1st Earl of Nottingham
	Thomas Howard, 14th Earl of Arundel
1608-1612	Charles Howard, 1st Earl of Nottingham
	Richard Sackville, Lord Buckhurst
1586-1608	Charles Howard, Lord Howard of Effingham
1585	Charles Howard, Lord Howard of Effingham
	William West, Lord de la Warr
	Thomas Sackville, Lord Buckhurst
1570	Anthony Browne, 1st Viscount Montague
	William West, Lord de la Warr
	Thomas Sackville, Lord Buckhurst
1569	Anthony Browne, 1st Viscount Montague
1561	John Lumley, 1st Lord Lumley
1560	Henry Fitzalan, 12th Earl of Arundel
1559	Henry Fitzalan, 12th Earl of Arundel