top of page

Deputy Lieutenants

The office of Deputy Lieutenant dates back to 1569.  Deputy Lieutenants played a key role during the Spanish Armada in maintaining a system of beacons to warn of invasion.  Today they assist the Lord-Lieutenant by representing her at a range of engagements.  These include greeting dignitaries at Gatwick Airport, participating in investitures and Queen’s Award presentations, assessing honours nominees and Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service nominations, attending Remembrance Day ceremonies, attending Citizenship Ceremonies and making recommendations for people to attend Royal Garden Parties.

Deputy Lieutenants are appointed at the Lord-Lieutenant’s discretion, subject to the King ‘not disapproving of the granting of the commission’.  Deputy Lieutenants will have given outstanding public service and the intention is that they should be broadly representative of the life of the county in social range, gender, community background, ethnicity and location. 

Deputy Lieutenants retire at the age of 75, when they are permitted to retain the letters DL.

West Sussex currently has 26 Deputy Lieutenants although the Lord-Lieutenant is allowed to appoint 52 based on the county’s population of 882,700.  Deputy Lieutenants come from every part of the county, and include influential representatives of the judiciary, the military, finance and business, education, the arts, media and sport.  They are the eyes and ears of the Lord-Lieutenant throughout the county and as well as representing her on official engagements, also do all they can to ensure that she is well-informed about the life of West Sussex.

West Sussex Deputy Lieutenants

Mrs Julia Aisbitt, JP, DL

Mr John Barclay, DL

Mr Hugh Bonneville, DL

Mr John Booth, DL

Mr Colin Field, DL

Mr Harry Goring, DL

Ms Sally Gunnell, OBE, DL

Mr Neil Hart, DL

Mr Simon Knight, DL

Her Honour Judge Christine Laing KC, DL

Mrs Shelagh Legrave, CBE, DL

Rear Admiral John Lippiett, CB, CBE, DL

Professor Jane Longmore, DL

The Earl of Lytton, DL

Commodore Michael Mansergh, CBE, DL

Mrs Marilyn Mansfield-Clark, DL

Mrs Caroline Nicholls, DL

The Duke of Norfolk, DL

The Duchess of Norfolk, DL

Mrs Denise Patterson, DL

Mrs Olivia Pinkney, CBE, QPM, DL

The Duke of Richmond and Gordon, CBE, DL

Mr Gary Shipton, DL

Mr Andrewjohn Stephenson Clarke, DL

The Reverend Rupert Toovey, DL

Mr Peter Webb, MBE, DL

QAVS Oceanair Neil Hart.jpg
Mrs Shelagh Legrave, CBE, DL greets HM The King of Eswatini_edited.jpg
KAVS SuSSAR Nov 22.jpg
bottom of page